How to Create a Brown Smokey Eye

smoky eye effectBeing a fair gal, I rarely do a black smokey eye. Although I like dramatic eyes, I find it a little harsh on my fair skin. So my go-to is a brown smokey eye. Done correctly, I find it a beautiful (and better) alternative to a black smokey eye.

You can use items from any makeup brand to make a brown smokey eye. I included the exact brands & colors I used as well as the shades so you can replace them with other brands if you prefer.

Primers: Use a primer. I recommend Urban Decay Primer Potion or NARS Smudge Proof eyeshadow base. Line your entire lid with MAC Constructivist Paint Pot. I use the MAC 249 brush to do so.

Liners: Line water line & top lid with a black eyeline. I used MAC eye liner in Feline & Chanel Intense Eye Pencil in Noir. Smudge if necessary (I use NARS 15 brush).

Shadows: Then use MAC Patina (light/medium brown) all over the lid using MAC 239 eye shadow brush. Apply NARS Galapagos (dark glittery brown) with MAC 217 (blending brush) on crease into a sideways v (>) halfway onto lid. Apply Urban Decay Zero (black) on crease lightly using 217. Apply MAC Ricepaper using MAC 239 on brow bone as a highlighter. Apply MAC Sweet Sienna on inner corner of eye & over liner on water line using MAC 239.

Mascara: Apply two coats of very black mascara. I used Fresh Supernova.

Tips: Pair this dramatic look with a light lip. I used Chanel 65 Fluorescent l/g. The key is blending. If the colors seem too dark or not going together, keep blending!

Leave a Reply

